Where it all began…

I would say my obsession for travel started when I was 2 years old when my parents took us on a family holiday for the first time and we were lucky enough that they made sure we did this every year. We conquered mainland Spain, Mallorca, Menorca and Ibiza in my early years.

Sitting in a dingy being pulled up and down the beach by my Dad, screaming “again, again, again” until it was time for me to be a princess and poppa Golp to make me a sand castle… with a moat! Oh Yes! I was certainly living the dream. I could tell mum was also living the same dream when I ordered Spaghetti Bolognese and bread with Alioli for every meal, every day.

But I blame Jet2 for this obsession escalating!

I was content with 1 holiday a year until they came along with their shining new destinations email on the day Keeley and I were trying to decide if we should take our last 2 days holiday allowance for the year to go to Chester or York…. Sod it, let’s go to Budapest!

Budapest Spa

And so it began…

This was back in 2007 and from then I have been trying for at least a “big” holiday plus 2 city breaks a year in a mission to conquer the world slowly but surely. I admit I would love to down tools and set off on an full time adventure covering continents at a time, rather than a week here and there, but there have been the usual set backs such as University, paying bills and of course family… especially my Nan.

Not wanting to sound morbid, but I want to spend as much time with her as possible whilst I can.

I have absolutely no regrets about these set backs and am happy for my mini adventures, one day though… I’ll be off, having made this is a pinky promise to myself. However, I am doing my best to cover mini adventures in as many different cities / countries as possible in the meantime.

Varadero beach

